People sitting at a long table. There are computers, cups, notebooks, cans, and pens on the table.

Faculty Fellows

About the program

TLC Faculty Fellows constitute themselves as a community of peers engaging with higher education research, reflecting on their teaching, exploring campus policy and practice with relation to issues facing students and faculty, and supporting the culture of teaching and learning on our campus.

The Teaching and Learning Center (TLC) at UC Santa Cruz invites senate and non-senate faculty to apply to join our eighth cohort of Faculty Fellows.

2024–25 Faculty Fellows Program

The Transfer Student Experience

Facilitated by Faculty Director Robin Dunkin

During the 2024–25 academic year, we will be engaging around the theme of The Transfer Student Experience.  In partnership with the HSI Initiatives Team, the TLC is pleased to focus our Faculty Fellows learning community on a deep dive into understanding the intersectional experience of transfer students, the scholarship related to supporting transfer students, the barriers and opportunities for transfer students at large R1 research universities, and the specific ways we can create more affirming, productive, and holistic support for transfer students at UCSC.  We will engage with campus partners, scholarship, our own experiences, expertise from community colleges and more in this year-long exploration of the experience of transfer students on our campus.

How to Participate

Fellows will be expected to attend 4 meetings per quarter (Friday 12–1:45 PM with lunch provided), including hands-on workshops, reading-group-style discussions, visits by campus experts in research and practice related to the theme, and occasional special events involving outside speakers. The Faculty Fellows will have the opportunity, if they so desire, to invite speakers to address the Fellows group and/or the campus as a whole and to host events, town halls, and initiatives related to our thematic focus. 

We encourage faculty from all disciplines to join us to ensure a rich, vibrant and productive discussion throughout the program.  Previous faculty fellows are encouraged to apply to be senior fellows.

Fellows will be eligible for up to $1500 in reimbursement, to be used within one year, to pursue professional development for teaching and mentoring, including attending national conferences or certificate programs or they can develop or expand a project or program on campus related to teaching, learning, mentoring, or student success.

Application deadline: May 6, 2024

Current Fellows

Marcela Alfaro-Córdoba

Assistant Teaching Professor


Amy Argenal

Assistant Teaching Professor


Jody Biehl

Associate Teaching Professor

Literature/Science Communications/Community Studies

Steve Coulter

Continuing Lecturer

Writing Program

Hannah Hausman

Assistant Professor


Jennifer Horne

Associate Professor

Film & Digital Media

Sumita Jaggar

Lecturer/Teacher Supervisor


Kasia Jankiewicz

Assistant Professor


Geri Kerstiens

Assistant Professor

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Shaun McKinnie

Assistant Professor

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Sarah Michals

Continuing Lecturer & ELWR Coordinator

Writing Program

Sagnik Nath

Assistant Teaching Professor

Computer Science & Engineering

Sarah Sanford

Assistant Teaching Professor


Heather Shearer

Teaching Professor

Writing Program

Grant Whipple

Assistant Teaching Professor


Tiffany Lynn Wong

Continuing Lecturer

Writing Program

Last modified: Apr 18, 2024